Getting Started with Digitalocean, First time users

Step by Step Guide for Signing Up with DigitalOcean with a Promo Code to Receive Free Credit of $50 for 1Year

STEP 1

  1. Visit https://cloud.digitalocean.com/registrations/new

  2. Provide your full name, a valid email address and a password

  3. Optionally you can sign up with Google Authentication

STEP 2

  1. You’ll receive an email from Digitalocean asking to confirm your email by clicking on a link.

  2. Click on the link in the email and you will be forwarded to the next page

STEP 3

  1. You need to provide your Credit card details. For Non-American cards, international transaction must be enabled.

  2. Fill in your billing address & phone number.

  3. Upon clicking on Save card button, an amount will be charged to your card which will later be refunded. This charge is only for validating the payment method.

STEP 4

  1. Optionally fill your preferences in project goals or skip directly to the Digitalocean control interface.

  2. Expand the “Account” tab in the sidebar & click on billing sub-tab

  1. Scroll down in the billing to the end of the page

  2. Look for promo code section

  3. Input “vpointz” without the quotes in the textbox and click on apply code

  4. You’ll see a popup in the top-right corner “Promocode Successfully applied”

  1. Now scroll up the billing page to the beginning to see the available credit in your account.

Note

  • This $50 credit is valid for 12 months.
  • This credit can be used for any service across Digitalocean.
  • Once the credit is fully consuming, Digitalocean will start billing on your credit card
  • For evaluation/learning purpose, it is highly recommended to create a droplet while trying out a service. Once done, destroy it. Leaving it running or even shut down state keep incurring charges.
  • Though the cost is mentioned largely on monthly charges, actually billing happens hourly basis. Hence its always wise to destroy a droplet while not using and pay for the hours while trying out the application.
  • It is possible to deactivate an account to avoid the possibilities of billing after learning is over. Just go Account > Profile and click on “Deactivate Account”. Confirm to the popup and the account will be deactivated. All the resources will be wiped off and no charges should occur hereafter.
  • If you wish to come back, you can reactivate the account by loin with the same email & password later.

Starting-off with Vitalpointz IoT Core-lite

Follow the link for a simple step-by-step guide to spin off a Vitalpointz IoT Core-lite and get a hands on experience using a simulators or real devices.